1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The letter that got me disowned yesterday.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by maverick, Nov 30, 2010.

1. maverick

Mom and Dad,

I wrote you this letter because I’m a writer, and I don’t know how else to tell you what I’m going to tell you now. I think this will be the best way because it will give us time to think before talking later on. From the opening line you might be able to guess what I’m going to say, but stick with me ‘til the end. What I have to say is not easy, and it took more courage than I have ever summoned in my life to write this.

What I have to say might alarm or shock you, but that’s not why I’m telling you. I’m telling you because you raised me to be an honest person and you (Mom) have told me in the past that if I was a lesbian, you would still love me and accept me for who I am, that you would always accept me no matter what. I hope that’s still true.